TESTIMONIALS

TESTIMONIALS

Featured Testimonial

I cannot say enough positives about Matthew Link and the work he did for me. He accomplished more results for me in a week than the lawyer I had before him accomplished in 2 years. I know it sounds unbelievable but it is true. Whether it is his education, work habit, intellect, or courage – I do not know – I just got RESULTS and I could not recommend him more highly. He was honest – told me what he could and couldn’t do from the get go – and did it. It was the most refreshing legal experience I have had in 30 years of dealing with attorneys in business.

Stephen R.

  • Avatar Cheri Piles ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    I really enjoy and appreciate the clock hours courses offered by McFerran Law! I have taken several over the 21 years I've been a broker. This was the first class I was able to attend with Ed on 1031 Tax Deferred Exchanges, He was … More engaging, great sense of humor and most importantly I learned and gained value I'll be able to offer my clients! So happy to have finally taken this class! I look forward to many more!
  • Avatar Jami Elliott ★★★★★ 4 months ago
    As a Real Estate professional, I really appreciate the knowledge and presentations provided by McFerran Law, P.S. They provide an array of important/interesting/informative classes to choose from, and it's a bonus that many of their … More classes fulfill the required continued education clock hours agents need. Often, I take McFerran Law University classes not necessarily for the clock hours, but because the information provided is always applicable to enhancing my business and keeping me current with laws and changes. I've taken classes from all presenters there and walk away a better agent .... and kudos to Julie, she's prompt, keeps things organized, and is great to work with! I have, and will continue, to promote McFerran Law University to associate brokers as to the benefit of taking their array of classes and staying at the top of our field. McFerran U, you always do a great job, thank you!
    Jami Elliott
    Realtor®
    Windermere Real Estate/JS
  • Avatar John Graver ★★★★★ a month ago
    Ed McFerran knows so much about the 1031 subject. I have taken at least 4 1031 classes from him and each time I get something more.
    I have also done my own 1031 exchanges with the McFerran Law Co.
  • Avatar smiles pierce ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    Very good class and information. I can use this information in my Real Estate practice as well as in my personal life. Ed McFerran makes the class enjoyable and the time go very quickly.
  • Avatar Marianne Mabbitt ★★★★★ a month ago
    Taking a class from Ed McFerran is always a valuable expenditure of your time. He's a great educator and presenter, giving historical background and inciteful examples to clarify the material..
  • Avatar Charles Clark ★★★★★ 6 months ago
    We used McFerran for our 1031 forward exchange. The process was smooth and well executed. Communication was excellent with all questions and concerns being answered in a timely, courteous and professional manner. They took something … More they know and do well and helped me (who previously was unaware of such a process) become informed and educated in a short period of time. Thanks to all at McFerran.
  • Avatar Becky McK ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    McFerran Law typically caters to the Real Estate Broker with timely, current and relevant information in the industry to educate us for our careers. Mike's class on Reverse Mortgages is all of that as well as interesting! Thanks … More Mike!.
  • Avatar Teri Tennyson ★★★★★ 7 months ago
    Today I attended a 3 hr. continuing education class instructed by Matt Link. It was very useful, informative and gave great clarity. Again, McFerran Law is an integral component of my Real Estate practice. During the short sale and foreclosure … More years McFerran Law was my go to and they continue to now offer great educational resources for Brokers as well. Bravo!
  • A Google User ★★★★★ 4 months ago
    I have been in real estate for 22 years. I have referred a number of clients to McFerran Law for consultations and they have all been extremely satisfied. The firm also provides the finest continuing education in the field. These folks … More know their stuff and are very generous in sharing.
  • Avatar Bill Aubrey ★★★★★ 4 months ago
    I have been in real estate for 22 years. I have referred a number of clients to McFerran Law for consultations and they have all been extremely satisfied. The firm also provides the finest continuing education in the field. These folks … More know their stuff and are very generous in sharing.
  • Avatar Susan Guidry ★★★★★ 6 months ago
    I am a real estate broker and have taken many classes from McFerran University and their colleagues. All are valuable additions in my continuing education. I highly recommend Ed et al.
  • Avatar Amy Prestas ★★★★★ 7 months ago
    Ed McFerran is a wonderfully engaging and intelligent attorney. His years of experience bring incredible value to the table and I would recommend him to anyone. His administrative assistant, Julie Coblentz is super responsive, organized, … More smart and kind. I cannot say enough good things about them!
  • Avatar Kassie ★★★★★ 6 months ago
    The entire staff at McFerran Law are top-notch. They are professional, timely and go above and beyond for their clients. We are so appreciative of their efforts. Highly recommend!
  • Avatar Jen Murrweiss ★★★★★ 8 months ago
    I have worked with Ed and his Attorneys several times in the past years starting in 2011 with helping my real estate clients with shortsales and navigating the foreclosure process. They are always my go to for any classes on these topics … More and so many others to gain knowledge and better assist my clients. Simply the best and thank you for always answering my questions and keeping us up to date in the laws and changes!
  • Avatar Susan Guidry ★★★★★ 5 months ago
    The McFerran classes are always interesting and informative. I enjoy all the instructors. Their knowledge and insight are invaluable!
  • Avatar Shelby Guiberson ★★★★★ 5 months ago
    If you want someone to go above and beyond and will get back to you in a timely manner and educate you along the way Gurpreet Gill is the right person. We appreciate your time and reassurance especially during the holiday time. I definitely … More would come back to him if I ever needed too.
  • Avatar Bill Aubrey ★★★★★ 9 months ago
    McFerran Law is the pre-eminent real estate law firm in the state. Over the years, I have referred multiple clients to them and they are always well satisfied. And their excellent continuing education efforts are to applauded. As a retired … More attorney, I can’t recommend them highly enough. Totally professional and yet like family.
  • Avatar Scott Horan ★★★★★ 10 months ago
    Online classes are affordable and very informative. If you want to learn something substantive you can share with others, including your clients, there is no better group of instructors in the business. Initial consultations ($150 or … More less) with an attorney are also affordable and informative.
  • Avatar Margaret Goche ★★★★★ 7 months ago
    I have been attending McFerran Realestate continuing education
    for many years. Before Covid they where in person and now
    they are a live webinar. They have always been full of current
    information pertaining to Realestate. I highly recommend
    … More
    McFerran University.
  • Avatar Muaz Yhaya ★★★★★ 10 months ago
    In all of my years brokering, consulting, developing and remodeling—these experts have been great to work with. Came highly recommended before I needed them and glad I decided to engage with them. Highly competent and professional legal … More counsel staff and professionals here. Appreciate their services.
  • Avatar Suzanne Vetillart ★★★★★ 11 months ago
    We're grateful to the team at McFerran law. We've been fortunate to work with their team after being referred by a close associate. We appreciate their attention to detail, responsiveness, and ability to explain complex details. … More We look forward to continuing to work with their team and we continue to grow our businesses.
  • Avatar Ashok Mehta ★★★★★ 8 months ago
    I have attended several classes from Law Group and enjoyed all of them in my carrier. Today's class was Corp's, Proprietorships & LLC's and it was excellent. It covered lots of topics to decided which way you form your … More business identity, whether LLC or Corporation's and advantages and disadvantages of doing business as Corporation's or LLC's.
    Excellent...!!
    Thanks...!!
  • Avatar Vic Chaloupka ★★★★★ 8 months ago
    I have taken many classes from Ed largely through Snohomish County Association of Realtors. He is extremely knowledgeable and always well prepared, to the point and keeps you on your toes with an informative questioning style; thanks again … More Ed
  • Avatar Michael Israel ★★★★★ 10 months ago
    As a real estate agent always looking to expand my knowledge base, I've taken a number of classes offered to agents by McFerran U. All have been very interesting and relevant for my business, and highly applicable to my representation … More of buyer and seller clients.
  • Avatar Jeremy Thompson ★★★★★ 9 months ago
    I am amazed that Jean could take a years' worth of fragmented and chaotic information, and present it in court so precisely and clearly. I admire her talent and competence. She makes what is difficult look easy.
  • Avatar Emilie Tri ★★★★★ a year ago
    I love all the classes I took from McFerran Law. The instructors are very knowledgeable and they provided great course materials with it as well. Julie always send out the certificate right after. Highly recommended if anyone have the … More time and want to grant more knowledge on the Real Estate industry and about the law.
  • Avatar Barbara Collier ★★★★★ a year ago
    Excellent class with such good examples of how we can use the information in our business! Clear, concise, and great information - not your cookie cutter course! I highly recommend this training!!!
  • Avatar Mervin Calverley ★★★★★ a year ago
    I really appreciated the instructor's (Matt's) communication skills and his understanding of the materials. I loved the way he encouraged participation and called us by name. Great class, great instruction.
  • Avatar CHK LLC ★★★★★ 10 months ago
    Attorney Matthew Link promptly and professionally delivered a positive outcome for our ongoing tenant issues. If you are a landlord in Tacoma save yourself the grief and lines and court appointments. Just call Matthew.
  • Avatar Ami Parker ★★★★★ a year ago
    Very user-friendly firm. They have a basic consult with a pre-disclosed fee. They offer free classes on real estate related law, too. And offer an e-mail for questions that real estate agents might have regarding a transaction. Great place … More to start!
  • Avatar Rob Nicholson ★★★★★ a year ago
    Great Firm that ALWAYS offers incredible help to my clients at a very fair & reasonable price. These are my only go-to guys for all real estate legal matters - including 1031 Exchanges, Landlord-Tenant laws, etc.
  • Avatar Your Clark County Realtor ★★★★★ a year ago
    For Realtors, I recommend all their CE classes! For Real Estate Law both public and Realtors, they are my referral. You're welcome.
  • Avatar FRANK ELLIOTT ★★★★★ a year ago
    The 1031 Property Exchange was the most complicated transaction that I have ever attempted. Without the professional step by step procedures handled by the McFerran this would easily have become a disaster. Every step of the way I was … More kept informed day to day what was happening and what would follow after all the many documents were signed. On schedule the mission has been completed to our complete satisfaction. You will be satisfied too!
    The Elliotts
  • Avatar Neil Asay ★★★★★ a year ago
    I highly recommend McFerran Law if you need help navigation through a 1031 tax deferred real estate transaction. Ed really knows what he is doing.
  • Avatar Mr Olsen ★★★★★ a year ago
    I took a class on 1031 exchanges. Before taking the class I had no clue what a 1031 exchange even was. Now I have the confidence to at least start the conversation with my clients about how a 1031 exchange can help and benefit them. I will … More be signing up for more classes if and when they are offered. Would recommend to other real estate professionals.
  • Avatar Dustie Verwers ★★★★★ a year ago
    I love taking my continuing education clock hour classes with Ed McFerran. He is every knowledgeable and entertaining for the subject matters that could be a little dry. Taking the classes and getting to know him has given me great confidence … More in knowing that if I had real estate legal issues, he would be the first person that I would call to help me.
  • Avatar Kim Thompson ★★★★★ a year ago
    They were very knowledgable and helpful with our transaction. Each individual we worked with was very good at their role and you could tell they were truly working for us to insure all paperwork was complete, deadlines were met, disbursements … More were as we wanted, etc. Would recommend and use them again if needed!
  • Avatar Charlotte McGinness ★★★★★ a year ago
    The class on estate planning by Matt is a tremendous asset to my business!! Very interesting presentation.
  • Avatar Donna Crawford ★★★★★ a year ago
    The history of title insurance and the possible pitfalls that can occur in real estate transactions was very interesting and helpful. Ed has a a gift for helping the average broker better understand complicated situations and how to deal … More with them.
  • Avatar Eric ★★★★★ a year ago
    Jean Bouffard and her paralegal Kelly Vinson represented our HOA in a land dispute and we couldn't be happier with the outcome and the representation provided. They provided timely communication options recommendations and made us … More feel like we were their only client.
  • Avatar Oleg Cheb ★★★★★ a year ago
    Shelly Hummel is the crown jewel of this firm/operation in my opinion. She is very responsive, knowledgeable, well informed, well spoken and super easy to work with. She gets the job DONE! I would recommend her any time. Thanks for everything … More Shelly 😉
  • Avatar Skymaster Seattle ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    I am a Landlord. I had a defaulting tenant that wouldn't leave no matter what. I talked with Megan at McFerran Law and she connected me with attorney Matt Link at that firm. We proceed with an eviction of the tenant and finally they … More are gone!!! I can now sell my house!!! Megan was a joy as she always answered all my questions. She knew I had never done this before. Mr. Link was thankfully like a bulldog with the tenant in court. Thanks Megan and Mr. Link.
  • Avatar Ken Wiebe ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Exceptional experience start to finish...Shelly was terrific, eager to help and always communicated with us. Very professional yet still got personal attention that made the transaction smooth as silk. Highly recommended!
  • Avatar Brittney Poe ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Love attending classes with McFerran Law. They are great teachers and make the experience fun and easy to understand for us Realtors to understand many different aspects of Real Estate transactions.
  • Avatar Tory Horsman ★★★★★ a year ago
    Mr Ed McFerran and his Law Firm really care about people and helping them solve their real Estate issues. I appreciate all the assistance they have offeredd to me as a RE professional over the years.
  • Avatar Tillie Byer ★★★★★ a year ago
    My consultation with Jean Bouffard helped take a lot of weight off my shoulders. I will definitely utilize their services in the future when I purchase my next home.
  • Avatar Stephany Knight ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Still in the process of the help of this office. So far I'm pleased. Fair pricing and knowledgeable on the services I need.
  • Avatar Elsa Nunes-Ueno ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Expert help with 1031 tax exchange
  • Avatar Carol Maines ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    I love Jeanie and Ed. They are AMAZING if you ever need advice or help when it comes to Real Estate, Rentals and helping the landlords and their rights, Helping home owners negotiate with the bank if they are behind in payments
  • Avatar Dev DuRuz ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Great professional legal service
  • Avatar Lippi Tower ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Great people
  • Avatar Susan Draper ★★★★★ 7 years ago
    Short sales have taken up from 50% to currently 10% of my business since the last market downturn. My distressed homeowners appreciate the value of an upfront consultation as a means of understanding options and getting back the personal … More control of deciding on their best direction. We appreciate weekly updates. Jessica is our hero and we recognize that it is the specific underlying lien holder and their processing policies that are always the key factor to delays that lead to client frustration.

 

 

[wprevpro_usetemplate tid=”1″]

Mr. McFerran,

You probably don’t remember me, but you had one of your $150.00 initial consultations with me and my wife last year. We had a claim against a contractor and your advice was that our claim would not hold up in court.

I was not very happy and you suggested that my wife and I get a second opinion. We happily did because we were both, frankly, pretty upset with you when we got off the phone from our consultation.

We went to another attorney who advised us that our claim was valid. We proceeded into court and today I found out from our attorney that the judge today threw the case out of court because of some kind of court rule that we failed to have a valid claim. Our attorney said he was surprised. We were too.

We have spent over $5000 in attorney fees and costs on this matter and, to add insult to injury, the contractor’s attorney now wants us to pay his attorney fees in this matter.

I generally don’t write many e-mails like this, but we didn’t want to hear your valuable opinion.  I guess not all attorneys got “A’s” in law school. Our current attorney certainly didn’t.

Just thought you would want to know. Our last name is __________ and our phone consultation was in later February, 2019.

Sincerely yours,

David and Jill

I cannot say enough positives about Matthew Link and the work he did for me. He accomplished more results for me in a week than the lawyer I had before him accomplished in 2 years. I know it sounds unbelievable but it is true. Whether it is his education, work habit, intellect, or courage – I do not know – I just got RESULTS and I could not recommend him more highly. He was honest – told me what he could and couldn’t do from the get go – and did it. It was the most refreshing legal experience I have had in 30 years of dealing with attorneys in business.

Stephen R.

Ms. Heatherly,

I am not certain who to address this note to so I will send it to you as you were my main contact with the law firm. It seems so long ago since we had a consultation with Ed McFerran about a year before we finally listed our property in Tacoma for sale. After that he told us to stay in contact with you as you would as he said “be the tour guide” for the rest of our exchange.

Well it’s done now and we just received our wrap-up email to give to our accountants to do our tax return. I want to thank you Susy for being our tour guide and I am sorry about all the emails from me with questions!!  You always answered and I could see a smile in your answer.

Sincerely,

Alice and Duncan

Hi Cecile,

I hired your firm to assist me in doing a 1031 tax deferred exchange. I wanted to follow-up with you now that the 1031 has been successfully completed.

First:  I love the new cottage that I bought in the exchange with your help.

Second:  In have to thank you personally as it was you that kept me on track and gave me all the friendly reminders I needed to make sure my exchange was completed without a hitch.

Thank you again!!

Janet L.

OUR TEAM OF ATTORNEYS

Edward McFerran

Edward McFerran

Founder/Shareholder/Real Estate Attorney

Mr. McFerran is a graduate of Seattle University Alber’s School of Business. He received his law degree with honors in 1987 from the University of Puget Sound School of Law. Read More

Jean Meschke Bouffard

Jean Meschke Bouffard

Shareholder/Real Estate Attorney

Northwestern School of Law at Lewis and Clark College, in Portland, Oregon and earned her Juris Doctorate with a Certificate in Environmental and Natural Resources Law in 1985.  Read More

Matthew Link

Matthew Link

Shareholder/Real Estate Attorney

Matthew Link attended Seattle University School of Law. He graduated cum laude in 2013 and received the CALI award in
Property Law. Read More

Heather Walley

Heather Walley

Real Estate Attorney

Heather is a career associate real estate attorney with our law firm.  She graduated from the University of Washington in Seattle with a Bachelor’s Degree in Political Science. Read More

Gurpreet Gill

Gurpreet Gill

Real Estate Attorney

Gurpreet Gill is an associate real estate and business attorney at McFerran Law.  He previously received his bachelor’s degree from the University of Washington. Read More

Contact Us

Call or email us to schedule an appointment or ask a question.